The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

I just completed The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo for my book club, and it was fantastic. I started the book probably a week and a half ago, but have been reluctant to put it down to do much of anything. The thriller follows an investigative journalist named Mikael Blomkvist through his highs, lows, and year long search for a murderer. The title refers to the other main character in the book, Lisbeth Salander, a personal investigator. Their lives intertwine throughout the novel by Stieg Larsson as they try to solve the mysteries of the wealthy Swedish Vanger family.

Mr. Larsson is Swedish and wrote all three books in this trilogy before his untimely passing in 2004. I eagerly await reading The Girl Who Played With Fire next. If it reads with as many twists, intrigues, or is half as compelling as the first book, I will be perfectly happy. While the translation of these novels definitely leaves something left to be desired, it does not take away from the novel itself and reads quickly despite its 590 pages.

The book deals with a lot of dark concepts, so if you are easily disturbed this probably isn’t the book for you. I’m easily scared but still liked it though.

3 Comments »

  1. Min Said:

    Mitzi … you may already know this … a movie was made a year or two back of TGwtDT … and it is at the Plano Angelica and I’m dragging Ron to see it this afternoon!!! There was a review in the Dallas Morning News 4/2 and the reviewer gave it an A- … which is pretty good. Also there was a picture of Lisbeth Sanders … and it wasn’t quite what I expected — kinda Gothish. Enjoy the 2nd book! You won’t be disappointed.

  2. I have this book on my shelf after buying it from a second-hand bookstore quite a well ago but haven’t been able to bring myself to actually begin it. I’m not sure why…possibly because I’m not usually into fantasy or action. But an increasing number of people are recommending I do read it. Is it a fantasy novel – I’m not sure I have my perception of it accurate?

    • Whitney Manson Said:

      There is action, but it’s more of a thriller than a fantasy. It takes a while to get into the first book, but give it a try and you’ll enjoy it.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

